Water Damage Classifications

The IICRC’s S-500 Standard and Reference Guide for Professional Water Damage Restoration has divided water classifications into three categories. The category of water in any flood situation will fall into one of these categories. Which category the flood damage fits in is determined by the amount and type of presumed and present contamination in the water.

Water in Category one is found to be from a clean or sanitary source. This water, sometimes referred to as clean water, comes from broken clean water lines, faucets, water purifiers, and uncontaminated toilet bowls/tanks. Even though floods may be caused by one of these clean water sources, the water can degrade to category two or three in a little time or if it comes in contact with contaminants.

Water that is considered category two contains contaminants, which can cause illness or discomfort if ingested. Sometimes called grey water, category two water sources include dishwasher overflow, washing machine overflow, and toilet overflow consisting of urine (no feces). Just like category one water, category two can quickly degrade to category three if left untreated or if it comes in contact with other contaminants.

Water that falls into category three is extremely unsanitary and has the potential to cause serious illness and possibly death if ingested. Also called black water, sources include but are not limited to, water that supports microbial growth, toilet bowl water with feces, water from beyond the toilet trap, sewage, and flooding from streams and rivers. Floods, which include category three water, require professionals to clean up. Contact Total Restoration of Texas LLC today for any and all of your water extraction and flood restoration needs.

Total Restoration of Texas LLC provides the following services:

We serve the following Austin-area communities:

  • Austin
  • Buda
  • Cedar Park
  • Georgetown
  • Kyle
  • Lakeway
  • Leander
  • Lockhart
  • New Braunfels
  • Pflugerville
  • Round Rock
  • San Marcos